top of page
  • Annalise

One of Us


Verse 1:

Fully human He was, fully human He is still today

With arms that embrace me with compassion

Feet that run to me, His child, with fullest joy

With strong hands that gently lift my weary head to see

His eyes that can see into the depths of my soul, yet love me ever graciously


Chorus:

I am caught in this gaze, this marvelous embrace

Until my mind catches up, struggling to swallow the truth

Jesus, you see me and love me, how can this be


Verse 2:

That day you took on human flesh, arriving into the world in the most vulnerable of states

What was it like, to yourself become a part of creation in the very world you created

You wearied in body, mind, and spirit in the days you wandered earth, yet all without sin

Emotions expressed in the purest of their forms, never holding back compassion nor anger

Oh that you might draw me closer into your mysterious ways,

To walk the path of suffering and glory which you chose before the days began


Chorus


Verse 3:

Your heart beats in rhythms mine can never hope to without your oxygen

Supplying my every need, breathing life into my lifeless organs

Which I depend upon daily as I find myself still within the most vulnerable of states

But those arms that extend, feet that run toward me, hands that support me, and eyes that see

my every fault and choose to love me still

Amazing grace, there is no other way to name it


Chorus


Verse 4:

You told me it would be to my advantage that you send your Spirit

My counselor, my advocate, the power of God in-dwelling within the space of my heart

Convicting with the most pointed knife, and I realize upon my yielding I find relief

Once the cancer is cut out, healing comes with tender words of affirmation, reassurance


Chorus


Verse 5:

Fully human He was and is, fully human He will be when we meet in the clouds

Joyful sounds will resound as the bridegroom at last sweeps His bride off her feet

Whisking her away to some place greater where the flower never fades

Where human souls finally realize the fullness of humanity. What they were meant to be.


Chorus


AB 10/8/21

bottom of page